November 17, 2014 / 2:39 pm

The Staves Release Mini Documentary in Support of If I Was


Watford, England sweethearts Emily, Jessica, and Camilla Staveley-Taylor make up the acoustic folk trio The Staves who’s tight and intricate harmonies intertwine within their music and into your heart. In support of their sophomore studio album If I Was, produced by Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon and which comes out Feb. 2, The Staves released a short documentary on of the creation of the album at ‘April Base.’ The Staves grew to know Vernon from being Bon Iver’s support band on a North American tour in the summer of 2012, but after working to create this album they have become close and even spent Thanksgiving with his family. The whole video highlights a love and kinship that develops when making music with others. “I think this feels like the most natural and kind of honest we’ve been able to be in front of a microphone” Jessica says in the documentary about If I Was. The single “Blood I Bled” is already a gorgeous growth from the sturdy roots that were shown in their last album Dead & Born & Grown.

The Staves were on WIUX’s top ten British bands to listen to on the fourth of July, but I know they are also what I’ll be listening to this Feb 2.

Watch the mini-documentary here:

If I Was tracklist:

1) “Blood I Bled”
2) “Steady”
3) “No Me, No You, No More”
4) “Let Me Down”
5) “Black & White”
6) “Damn It All”
7) “The Shining”
8) “Don’t You Call Me Anymore”
9) “Horizons”
10) “Teeth White”
11) “Make It Holy”
12) “Sadness Don’t Own Me”