May 15, 2015 / 5:41 pm

Crushed Beaks – Scatter


In a mayhem of fun frenzy, Crushed Beaks debuted their first album, Scatter. Their brand of fizzy, noise pop has the makings for rolled down windows on a hot summer day. This London trio is made up of guitarist Matthew Polie, Drummer Alex Morris, and recently recruited bassist Scott Bowley. Crushed Beaks formed in 2010, and Scatter has been long rumored since their Tropes EP in 2013. Like the crackling of heat on a hot road, Crushed Beaks’s Scatter is fizzying indie rock that is quick, earnest, and frankly, fun.

Opening with a softer side the intro of “April” is a swirling melodic mist which the drums burst through. Polie’s vocals seem to hover, tingle like a beach-y reverb on a guitar. His semi-gravelly voice quickly becomes a key component of their sound, something that is instantly recognized as part of Crushed Beaks. The second track, “Overgrown,” was the main single that came out in anticipation of the album slides into “Replicae” who’s guitars have tones reminiscent of surf rock melodies. The entire album free youthful, in the swirls of indie rock.

“Choices” is building excitement, with instrumentals that breaths more than those in the first half of the album. For a mid-album track, it is one not to miss, a slight air of aggressive wrapped up in the carefree enthrallment of youth. Scatter doesn’t lose energy.

Polie’s vocals gets dreamier in “Memory Loss.” There is a clean and open intro with waves of guitar reverb crashing inward on the song filling up all the cracks.  The last track is “Litmus,” an exuberant seven-minute long song that despite the length doesn’t drag.

The album reminds the listener of a trip to the beach, the hot pavement, crashing waves, the sunset and the drive home. It is the sound of the summer time. Parts of Scatter call memories of the Kooks, and the entire album feels warm and inviting. While this is not necessarily an album that will change your life, it is one that could emphasize your life by being part of its soundtrack.


The track list is as follows:

  1. April
  2. Overgrown
  3. Replica
  4. Rising Sign
  5. Choices
  6. Feelers
  7. History
  8. Grim
  9. Memory Loss
  10. Litmus